Negros Oriental Part 1: Dumaguete City and Twin Lakes of Balinsasayao


 

 

Thanks to a seat sale by Cebu Pacific a few months back, I was able to book a roundtrip flight from Manila to Dumaguete for only P1,100. I arrived in Dumaguete on July 6 and  returned to Manila on July 13. This was one of those trips that I had second thoughts of pursuing because of the incoming typhoon that time and second, I had no idea of what to do in Negros Oriental.

But after doing some research, I decided to explore the towns near Dumaguete for a few days and go to Siquijor thereafter. I was excited about going to Apo Island, and to swim with the turtles in the sanctuary there.

Upon arriving at Sibulan Airport in Dumaguete, I rode a tricycle, which they call “easy ride” for P100. I instructed the driver to go to Harold’s Mansion at the city proper, after 15 minutes or so, I was at the hostel already. I previously booked a bunk bed in a dormitory room for 4 days and 3 nights at P250 per night. It was an easy check in and I was then accompanied to the dorm room. I then took a nap since I had the first flight out of Manila and I was sleepy and tired.

img_0278
The dorm had AC but can only be used from 6pm to 6am

 

The accommodation also included free breakfast which consisted of unlimited pandesal, coco jam, sticky rice and the local tsokolate. Instant coffee was also free for the entire day.

After settling down, I proceeded to the roof deck of Harold’s, where the dining area was located. Here are some photos:

I liked that there was a herbal roof garden at Harold’s and those vines that are going on top are actually green grapes.

Here are photos of the roof top garden:

img_0277img_0043img_0272

I then inquired at the lobby of Harold’s about the Apo Island tour and the trekking tour around the nearby towns. I signed up for the Apo Island tour for the day after next. But there was no schedule for the trekking tour. So what I did was, I went in front of Harold’s and inquired with a tricycle driver if he can tour me around the nearby towns. We agreed to meet at around 11:00AM that morning and for P1,000, he would bring me to the Twin Lakes of Balinsasayao National Park covering the municipalites of Valencia, Sibuyan and San Jose, via habal habal.

Then off we go!

DCIM100GOPROGOPR7490.
The trip lasted for less than an hour and the view going on top of the mountain was breathtaking

Side story: That head band I’m wearing was given by Kyle Jennerman aka “Kulas” of Becoming Filipino. He is a Canadian travel blogger and now tv host who came to the Philippines three years ago, and fell in love with our country so much, that he decided to stay. The headband symbolizes “kalipay” which means happiness in Bisaya. It is not for sale, and I am one of the lucky ones that was given a piece.

img_2427
with Kulas! Super apir!

 

Upon reaching the entrance of the national park, we had to pay a minimal entrance fee, and had to walk the rest of the way, since it is prohibited to bring a noisy habal habal inside the forest.

img_0130
Beside the tourism center is Lake Kabalin-An, the fresh water mangrove trees are eye catchers

 

After an uphill climb of less than an hour, we descended using a trail that would lead to Lake Balinsasayao.

img_0087
The trail

 

The weather started to get gloomy and the rain started to trickle. The first lake is balinsasayao and to reach lake danao, one has to ride a “boat” for P250. Of course, I did not pass on the opportunity to see both lakes.

img_0054
Lake Balinsasayao

 

DCIM100GOPROG0027515.
It was raining really hard while we were crossing the waters of lake balinsasayao going to lake danao. It was so cold!

Upon reaching the other side, a short trek lead us to lake danao, it was more beautiful than balinsasayo, for me that is.

img_0057
Lake Danao from the view deck
img_0078
It was a surreal view. I was already soaking wet by this time.

 

The trek was tiring, and I decided to call it a day and asked my “tour guide” to bring me back to Harold’s I can eat and rest.

The rain was still pouring hard while I rode the habal habal, it was such an exhilarating feeling!

We agreed, to go to another town the next day for some waterfalls chasing!

TO BE CONTINUED….

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    hi, did you try the ultralight plane in Dumaguete? Do you have any details you can share with me. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. edgywedgie says:

      I did not know that there’s an ultralight plane in Dumaguete. But I did try riding one in Mati City, Davao Oriental

      Like

    2. edgywedgie says:

      I did not know that there’s an ultralight plane in Dumaguete. But I did try riding one in Mati City, Davao Oriental. You may read about my experience here https://edgywedgie.wordpress.com/2016/10/20/mindanao-saga-flying-club-birds-eye-view-of-mati-city/

      Like

Leave a Reply

