Coron: Lovelier the Second Time


The first time I was in Coron, Palawan was in 2015. I only spent three days exploring  Coron Island and was not able to fully enjoy what the place had to offer. Here is my blog entry of my first visit to  Coron, Palawan

Coron has also been in the news, because of the announced plan of Nickelodeon to construct an underwater resort there. This plan was opposed by many environmentalists because of the ill effects that it may cause on the ecological balance on the islands. So what better time to go back to Coron, while it still remains pristine.

So when Cebu Pacific had a seat sale sometime August 2016, I immediately booked a flight going to Busuanga for March 2017.  The round trip tickets amounted to P2,600, more or less.

For this trip, I booked my stay with RB Transient Homestay located near the main road of Coron town. It was located in a community in what seems to be a mangrove forest. The place itself was very clean, had ample water supply, had a kitchen where you can cook, very helpful caretakers and the dorm rooms had two industrial fans which is enough for me to keep cool during the night. For the 6 days and 5 nights that I stayed at RBTH, I paid around P1,500. Here are some photos –

I also booked all of my tours with RBTH, which has a tie up with JY Travel and Tours, one of the known travel tours in Coron.

On the first day that I arrived in Coron, I just went for a walk around town since it was already too late to join any tours.

Coron town looked the same since I was there two years ago. Busy but quaint. Still possessed the charm of a small town. I went to the town plaza, then had a bottle of beer in a restaurant by the pier called La Sirenetta, then had halo-halo at a small eatery called Tita Esh. I think I went to this place to have lunch for the duration of my stay. The food combos were cheap for P150 and the halo-halo was also my favorite for only P80. Then I called it a night and went back to RBTH to sleep.

The next day, I woke up at 7am and prepared to be picked up by JY Travel and Tours. The first tour that I joined was Tour B, which included Barracuda Lake, Smith Beach, Skeleton Wreck, Reef Garden and Twin Lagoon. After the van pick up, I was brought to the pier at the reclamation area of the town where I boarded the outrigger boat. We left around 10am. This tour was for P950, which included the van pick up, buffet lunch, and all the entrance fees to the places included in the tour.

Here are some photos of Tour B –

Reef Garden

(click on the photos to enlarge)

Skeleton Wreck

img_7168
trying to get close to the Skeleton Wreck
img_7126
another try
img_7167
photo bombers you don’t see everyday

 

Lunch at Smith Beach

Twin Lagoon

img_7147
that end of the boat shot
img_7143
first lagoon
img_7130
entrance to the second lagoon. if its high tide, entrance is thru the wooden ladder above.
img_7197
if its low tide, you swim and go under the rock opening
img_7129
inside the second lagoon

Barracuda Lake

img_7145
entrance to the lake
img_7128
the water was so clear

img_7144img_6693img_7142

 

By 5pm, we were back at the pier, and after dinner, I had a good night’s sleep.

The next tour that I joined was called the Island Escapade Tour, that included Bulog Dos Island, Banana Island and Malcapuya Island. The tour amounted to P1,200. As with all the other tours, it included a buffet lunch.

Here are some photos –

Bulog Dos Island

img_7182
the sandbar of bulog dos at the background

img_7141

img_7127
still high tide
img_7157
just one of the 7,641 islands of the Philippines

Banana Island

img_7138img_7140

img_7139

Malcapuya Island

img_7213
my favourite island among the three

img_7201img_7136

 

The last time I was in Coron, I was not able to visit the Calauit Wildlife Sanctuary. So I made sure to visit the place on my second visit. This tour was the most expensive at P2,400 because of the distance from Coron town. There are two ways to go to Calauit, one is by boat and the second is by van. Since the sea was rough during my visit, JY travel opted the van option. The tour also included visits to Ocam Ocam beach, Concepcion Waterfall, and Stone Church in Malbato Hill.

The Calauit Game Preserve and Wildlife Sanctuary (CGPWS) is the Philippines major conservation showcase for wildlife habitat holding the single distinction as the first successful wildlife translocation experiment in Asia. It has evolved to becoming a home of important Philippine endemic and exotic wildlife from Africa. Source:  www.pcsd.gov.ph

img_7158
free to roam
img_7150
when humans are the ones inside a cage
img_7153
the iconic jeep of the park
img_7159
so cute
img_7195
a piece of Africa in Busuanga
img_7196
always maintain a safe distance

img_7155

img_7154
say cheese
img_7161
breakfast
img_7162
zebras
img_7165
time to leave Africa lol

 

Some photos of the other places included in the Calauit Tour –

On the 5th day, I was supposed to join Tour A that included Kayangan Lake, which I already saw two years ago. But it was still closed due to the recent accident where two Czech tourists died a month ago.  click to read the news report

So I just decided to go to Cabu Beach which is located 20 minutes away from the town and offers a great view of Coron Island. It is a great place to chill when you get too tired of island hopping or just simply get some sun and chill.

img_7186

The later in the afternoon, I decided to climb Mt. Tapyas. Two years ago, I did not even consider climbing Mt. Tapyas because I never thought that I could conquer its 721 steps. But I did this time, and it was a piece of cake ; )

Overlooking coron town

721 steps
img_7125
Finally!

 

img_7133
Mt. Tapyas cross

 

The next day, I had to catch an early flight back to Manila. Until the next seat sale, see you soon, Coron!

img_7191

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Arlene says:

    This is an awesome post. I love your selfie with the giraffes! Hope to get there soon and do the same thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. edgywedgie says:

      The giraffes are indeed cute, also the zebras. Just be on the look out for seat sale of CebuPac to save on airfare.

      Like

  2. vinneve says:

    Wow and wow!! All good photos and very nice to read lots of info but not too long.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. edgywedgie says:

      Thanks for the compliments and I’m glad you enjoy my blog entries. Cheers!

      Like

  3. Nice post! Can’t wait to visit coron 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

